Sample: die Länder



There are 16 German states, called Länder. You do not need to know where they all are, but there will usually be at least one mentioned in the aural, so you should know their names and where to put them. It is also worth familiarising yourself with the names of the capitals, though you don’t need to know what state they correspond to.

Baden-Württemberg (capital: Stuttgart)

Bayern (capital: Munich)

Berlin (capital: Berlin)

Brandenburg (capital: Potsdam)

Bremen (capital: Bremen)

Hamburg (capital: Hamburg)

Hessen (capital: Wiesbaden)

Mecklenburg-Vorpommern (capital: Schwerin)

Niedersachsen (capital: Hannover)

Nordrhein-Westfalen (capital: Düsseldorf)

Rheinland-Pfalz (capital: Mainz)

Saarland (capital: Saarbrücken)

Sachsen ( capital: Dresden)

Sachsen-Anhalt (capital: Magdeburg)

Schleswig-Holstein  (capital: Kiel)

Thüringen (capital: Erfurt)